Tuesday, March 15, 2016

Soul Weaver vs Grand Scrutator

Over a week ago on Sunday I played a 50 point game of Warmachine.

My newest Deneghra looks painted enough to be used in games at home. So my list was:

Deneghra the Soul Weaver
- Harrower
- Malice
- 2x Helldiver
- Deathripper
- Stalker

Maximum unit of Black Ogrun Party Pirates
Maximum unit of Cephalyx Mind Slaver & Drudge Thralls
Pistol Wraith
Necrotech & Scrap Thrall

Opponent had:

Grand Scrutator Severius
- Judicator
- Reckoner
- Blessing of Vengeance
- Repenter

Minimum unit of Choir of Menoth
Maximum unit of Holy Zealots + Monolith Bearer
Covenant of Menoth
Vassal of Menoth

Scenario was Incursion and Protectorate of Menoth started game. First picture is from the end of Cryx turn 1.

Deneghra has cast Grave Wind on Stalker, which has ran far to the right.

On second turn Cryx scores first control point from flag on the right. Blessing of Vengeance wasn't even contesting it, but Stalker slammed the arc node away nonetheless. Pistol Wraith went to control the flag, and Black Ogruns tried to block Line of Sight to it. Perhaps I'd get a second point on Protectorate turn.

Drudges run to engage Holy Zealots who are under Greater Destiny.

Both of the heavy warjacks contest middle flag at maximum distance.

Turn 3 Reckoner destroys Harrower, and some kind of spell from Severius kills the Pistol Wraith. Sad thing, because no protectorate models came to actually contest the flag. Holy Zealots kill most of the Drudge thralls.

Deneghra uses her feat on Cryx turn three, and it's played incorrectly. Deneghra can use her souls to allocate focus to warjacks inside her command range, not in her control area. Luckily Helldiver who charged Severius didn't kill the old man - finding out later that you won because you played a rule incorrectly is annoying.

Stalker, Helldiver and Deathripper also cheated some extra focus points for them, but that mix up was definitely worth it. First Stalker tries to head-butt Blessing of Vengeance down - only to find Blessing of Vengeance was within command range of Covenant of Menoth, who had cancelled knock down effects. Deathripper only got to make one attack, as Blessing of Vengeance killed the Black Ogrun with Defensive Strike that I would've used to block repel. Helldiver didn't really do anything either. Three warjacks with nine focus points were able to deal three damage in...

Deneghra had cast Mortality on Reckoner and Repenter, and had legally given three focus points for Malice.

Ragman advanced a little too close to Severius, who had used his feat to prevent spellcasting. Malice failed to disable Reckoner with four attacks that were the equal of P+S 18. Better play with Ragman would've done the trick, but, oh well.

Two charging Drudge Thralls destroy spray from Repenter. A scrap thrall scores second control point for Cryx.

Turn 4 Judicator wrecks both Helldivers, and Blessing of Vengeance cripples Stalker. Reckoner who had something like four or five damage boxes left wrecked uninjured Malice.

Blessing of Vengeance still didn't quite get within 4" of flag on the right, so I score third control point on my turn with Ragman. Situation was pretty hopeless because I had lost Malice. Severius had taken ten or so damage points, so that in mind Skarlock casts Grave Wind on Deneghra, who then charges Reckoner. Damage was triple ones.

Would Def 17, Arm 23 Deneghra face tank Reckoner, Judicator, Severius, Repenter and whatever Protectorate would be able to throw against her?

At least she had a really good start, when she had taken only a few stray points in from Reckoner, Repenter and channeled spells from Severius. Being so fixated over Deneghra made opponent forget to bring someone to contest flag on the right, so I'd go to four control points on Protectorate turn. That would be automatic victory for Cryx if Protectorate fails to kill Deneghra.

But now here was the real test. A charging Judicator who had received Battle Hymn.

Deneghra went down to four hit boxes remaining from the charge attack. Judicator had one focus remaining, which was used to boost attack roll. Judicator needed to roll 8+ with three dice to score a hit. And 8+ it was. Well. A roll of one plus one or one plus two would still save Cryx. But it was not to be, presumably because I had allocated focus too far. Karma does stuff like that. Really, it does.

No comments:

Post a Comment